The Journey of Nostalgia (3)

Hello friends, this is my 100th post! Yay! To celebrate this, I had previously asked my friends on social media, and on WordPress to send me word(s) or phrases for me to create something out of them. I have tried to incorporate the words you (they) sent me in the most beautiful way I can in the last of my series “The Journey of Nostalgia”.


If you haven’t read part 1 and 2, please do so here:

The Journey of Nostalgia (1)

The Journey of Nostalgia (2)


When I was a teen
I thought I knew it all
But I was only eighteen
And had never thought about much really

When I was a teen
I thought I was independent
Because I had read and seen
Books and movies
And I thought I was the wisest of them all

When I was a teen
I thought alone and lonely were the same
But all I had felt was loneliness
I hadn’t known what it is “to be alone”
I didn’t know the difference

Sleepless nights
Moonless and dark
No streetlight
Could create the dawn
I wanted so desperately

Early mornings
Sunny and hot
Gulping coffee
Concentrating so hard in class
That I often forgot
There were people around me

People, classmates especially
Were bothersome, cumbersome, in my way
I had no time
For mindless conversations
For my brain to distract itself
From what really “mattered”

I was lonely
Despite having friends
It was not their fault
Heck it was not mine
I engaged in a lot of activities
Like Rotaract*
Just not to think about
When the sun would set
And I would be in solitude
With my dark and painful thoughts
Dissecting my actions and feelings
Of the day
Of the week
Of the month
Of the year
Of 10 years ago

I never thought
The sun would ever dawn
In my world
But it did
Slowly

The dark thoughts still
Tiptoe in my mind
But they are ethereal**

I have experienced a new slice of the world
I have had a taste of true freedom
Self-Awareness

And once you taste real freedom
Your taste buds can’t go back
To the old and unevolved
There is a thirst and hunger
For the uncertain and the unknown

You experience
The good and the bad
Of being alone

Just taking a bus somewhere
Is an achievement
Getting lost and finding your way
Is the most fun
You can have

Disappointment and excitement
Become a way of life
And you wish
Everyday had an element of risk
Which makes you want
To seek to understand***
Yourself and your purpose

@Deepika2018


Happy Independence Day to my Indian friends on WordPress!


I would like to thank my friends:

*Rafhanah

**Arun

***Cyril Junior


If you liked this poem, please press the ⭐ button, comment below and share this post! Follow this blog for some new content for my 101st post!

You can find more of me and my works:
On Instagram @deepika.pydatallid
On Facebook on Dee’s words

Leave a comment