Stop and See!

This post is in response to the Week 12 – Masters of writing flash fiction contest. The word is ‘smoke’. I hope you enjoy it!

Relentless and determined, I ran up the hill, following the figure fleeing through the trees. The fleeting image of the most beautiful silhouette I had ever seen popped in my mind. I reached the top of the hill and stopped, mesmerized by the jungle of buildings that spanned my view. Squared and orderly. Just like I liked it. I looked down the hill for the shadow but it was nowhere to be seen. Birds chirping, trees rustling, leaves crackling, sun setting. I sat on a nearby rock and realized how excitement for new dreams can sometimes prove to be smoke!

Thanks for reading.

Follow me on Instagram @deepika.pydatallid

Follow my page on Facebook @Theheartknowsitall

3 thoughts on “Stop and See!

Leave a comment